About Yamuna River

Yamuna originally pronounced as Jumna/Jamuna is considered the second largest side stream of the Ganga and is the longest river in India. Yamuna river originates from the Yamunotri glacier situated at a height of 6387 meters. The Yamunotri glacier is situated on the southwestern steeps of the Banderpooch peaks of the lower Himalayan region of Uttarakhand.

Yamuna river derived its name from the Sanskrit word “Yama” which means Twin. Among the other tributaries, the tons river is the largest side stream of the Yamuna river. Apart from the Tons river, other tributaries joining Yamuna’s river course are; the Ken river, Hindon river, SasurKhadi river, and Chambal river.

Historical Aspect

  • It is also believed that Yamuna river got its name from the name of the goddess of the river Yami. The Yamuna stream is mentioned at many places in the ancient Rig Veda of the Vedic period.
  • Yamuna river is also divulged by an officer of Alexander as Seleucus/nicator as lanes in his surveys. Megasthenes, a Greek traveler and geographer also mentioned the Yamuna river in his Indica and described the region as the land of Surasena.

Economical Aspect

  • An agreement of mutual understanding was also signed among the 5 basin states which are Himachal Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Haryana, Rajasthan, and Delhi on 12 May 1994 for providing water supply. This resulted in the formation of the Upper Yamuna River Board under India’s ministry of water resources.
  • Also at Poanta Sahib, flood forecasting systems were also established at the intersection point of the Pawar and Giri tributaries.

River Course

The river course of the Yamuna stream includes the states of Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Haryana, Rajasthan, and Delhi. In Uttar Pradesh, it confluxes with the Ganga at Triveni Sangam. The Trivenisangamsignifies the convergence of 3 rivers- Ganga, Yamuna, and Saraswati.

At a Glance

  • 31°30′N 78°11′E
  • China, India
  • Himachal Pradesh
  • Kinnaur
  • 175 Km
  • Sutlej River